bean probe positioning?

roasting & roastery operations

bean probe positioning?

Postby CuthBland on Tue Feb 15, 2011 6:22 am

Hey all,

We have a Probat L12 and would like to retrofit a bean temp probe. A couple of things make me nervous about going to Probat directly to get the necessary equipment - firstly, the cost and secondly, the fact that we're very far away, would have to do the installation ourselves and would like to source local parts if something goes wrong in the future.

Unlike some of the other mechanical/electrical aspects of the roaster, doing something like this seems fairly simple, with the most complicated part being where to put the probe.

Does anyone have any advice on doing something like this? A diagram with "x marks the spot" would also be welcome ;)
CuthBland
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:36 am
full name: Cuth Bland
company: Bean There Coffee Company
: www.beanthere.co.za

Re: bean probe positioning?

Postby nick on Tue Feb 15, 2011 8:19 am

Nick Cho
nick
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 8:15 pm
Location: San Francisco, Coffeefornia
full name: Nicholas Cho
company: Wrecking Ball Coffee Roasters
: http://nickcho.com
: http://wreckingballcoffee.com/

Re: bean probe positioning?

Postby Alistair Durie on Wed Feb 16, 2011 1:32 am

Just a thought: a probe is in the "right" spot as long as it stays in the same spot and gives a consistent reading day after day. Between accuracy in numbers and consistency I would imagine the latter to be more valuable to you.

But I'm sure someone will come along with a much better answer, hopefully just put it "right there".
Alistair Durie
Elysian Coffee | photos | tweets
Alistair Durie
admin
 
Posts: 1002
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 1:59 am
Location: Vancouver Canada
full name: Alistair Durie
company: Elysian Coffee
: www.elysiancoffee.com
: www.coffeed.com

Re: bean probe positioning?

Postby Alistair Durie on Wed Feb 16, 2011 2:08 pm

In a quick conversation with Marty Curtis about this he said what works for one roaster doesn't work for another, so difficult to recommend anything specific. The bean probe should be placed accordingly to the smallest batch size you plan on roasting.
Alistair Durie
Elysian Coffee | photos | tweets
Alistair Durie
admin
 
Posts: 1002
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 1:59 am
Location: Vancouver Canada
full name: Alistair Durie
company: Elysian Coffee
: www.elysiancoffee.com
: www.coffeed.com

Re: bean probe positioning?

Postby geir oglend on Wed Feb 16, 2011 6:57 pm

Hi there, this is where Klaus put the T/C and it seems to work fine, geir
Attachments
klaus.jpg
geir oglend
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:03 pm
Location: cobble hill. bc. Canada
full name: geir oglend
company: drumroaster Coffee
: www.drumroaster.com

Re: bean probe positioning?

Postby CuthBland on Thu Mar 03, 2011 2:11 am

Thank for these...
Mostly confirms what I was thinking I guess, now just to convince the others that putting a drill anywhere near the front face of the machine is a good idea...
CuthBland
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:36 am
full name: Cuth Bland
company: Bean There Coffee Company
: www.beanthere.co.za


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron