Macro Photography of Press Pot Grinds

grinders for home and commercial

Macro Photography of Press Pot Grinds

Postby Mark Prince on Tue Jun 03, 2008 2:44 pm

I was doing a small job photographing some miniatures for a client today, and I decided to shoot some coffee grounds - specifically, press pot grinds. Both used (brewed with) and fresh. The grind is approximately 1200 microns average (I had the grind from the Ditting measured last year at UBC at various settings), the grinder is a Ditting KF804, and some of the shots are 1:1 macros. Interesting stuff. Even though the Ditting is a pressed burr grinder, there's some obviously clean "shears" in the grounds.

Click the picture to see the rest of the images uploaded to Flickr.

I tried doing a HDR version of one of the photos, sucked horribly at it. I've never done HDR before.

Mark
Mark Prince
Just in it for the espresso and coffee, Vancouver BC
Mark Prince

full name: Mark Prince
company: CoffeeGeek.com
: www.CoffeeGeek.com

Re: Macro Photography of Press Pot Grinds

Postby Jason Haeger on Tue Jun 03, 2008 4:17 pm

Fines are unavoidable.
Jason Haeger

full name: Jason Haeger
company: AJ Coffee Company | EspressoTrainer.com
: http://www.ajcoffeeco.com

Postby Mark Prince on Tue Jun 03, 2008 4:38 pm

Unless you sift the coffee, yep.

BUT... I've been told (I haven't seen it in person) the big industrial barrel roasters (Dallis Coffee uses these for their press pot "frac paks") do not produce fines. I've seen the finished samples, and there literally are negligible fines in the fracpaks. I don't know if the grinder itself does that, or if they post-sift.

Mark
Mark Prince
Just in it for the espresso and coffee, Vancouver BC
Mark Prince

full name: Mark Prince
company: CoffeeGeek.com
: www.CoffeeGeek.com

Postby Jason Haeger on Wed Jun 04, 2008 11:56 am

I really am curious as to how sifting out fines would effect cup quality.

I suspect complexity would be lost, but perhaps clarity would drastically improve.