Synesso not in use

la marzocco, synesso, simonelli, cimbali etc

Synesso not in use

Postby Ed Kaufmann on Fri Nov 21, 2008 4:37 pm

Hey we have a 2 group Synesso at our shop that basically only gets used for hot water for tea and training. We always have the machine on in case we need it to back up our other machine. Is there any danger of damaging our machine by leaving it on all of the time with little use of the groups but a lot of use of the Americano water spout? It feels like we should be using it more to keep the water in the boilers fresh or something like that? Am I paranoid? Thanks.

Ed
Ed Kaufmann

full name: Ed Kaufmann
company: coming soon

Re: Synesso not in use

Postby Emily Oak on Fri Nov 21, 2008 11:59 pm

I am no expert by any means, but we use a 3 group Sabre at our roastery for tasting/making coffees for the 6 staff (i.e. not a lot of use). We managed to sieze up one of the solanoids with lack of use. i.e. the scale in the water locked it up because it sat stagnant for too long, as I understand it.

I've been told by machine technicians who descale boilers etc. that the worst machines they've seen are usually the ones with the least amount of use. They like to have water moving through all their water parts regularly :-)
Emily Oak

full name: Emily Oak
company: Australian Independent Roasters
: www.airoasters.com

Postby jmc on Mon Nov 24, 2008 7:43 am

Ed, if you're really not using the groups at all then you should consider a different hot water source and turn the machine off. Ideally, you want to keep the water moving through all the parts so the mineral content is not baking/cooking/stewing in there...it probably is not worth the service call just to have a hot water source.
Jay Cunningham
intelligentsiacoffee.com
jmc

full name: Jay Cunningham
company: Intelligentsia
: www.intelligentsiacoffee.com
: www.directtradecoffee.com

Postby Luke Shaffer on Mon Nov 24, 2008 2:19 pm