What's your 3EE's PID set to?

la marzocco, synesso, simonelli, cimbali etc

What's your 3EE's PID set to?

Postby nick on Sun Oct 08, 2006 12:11 pm

Long story short: I descaled and "tuned-up" our 3EE (3 grp semi-auto) Linea from 2002. I put a PID (EPNW kit... PXR3, etc.) on it about a year ago. I set the PID to about 207.7*F to achieve about 200*F on the Scace. The thing is, that machine had XL banjo tubes (a.k.a. "Schomer tubes"). When I "tuned up" the machine, I couldn't get new Schomer tubes (and I broke one :cry: while taking stuff apart), so I replaced them with "normal" banjo tubes.

Now, with everything else the same, except the new ("normal") banjo tubes, the groups are pulling at about 180*F.

So for y'all out there with 3EE's and PID's... what's your PID set to?
Nick Cho
nick
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 8:15 pm
Location: San Francisco, Coffeefornia
full name: Nicholas Cho
company: Wrecking Ball Coffee Roasters
: http://nickcho.com
: http://wreckingballcoffee.com/

Re: What's your 3EE's PID set to?

Postby Andy Schecter on Sun Oct 08, 2006 2:56 pm

nick wrote:When I "tuned up" the machine, I couldn't get new Schomer tubes (and I broke one :cry: while taking stuff apart), so I replaced them with "normal" banjo tubes.

Now, with everything else the same, except the new ("normal") banjo tubes, the groups are pulling at about 180*F.



Somewhere there's a story about how Nick got his tubes tied; but I'm gonna leave it alone....

Are you sure you got your instruments set for the correct thermocouple type? IOW, the PXR3 is set for whatever type TC you got in the boiler, and your Fluke (or whatever) is set for a type T Scace?
-AndyS
Schectermatic(tm), the oldest, most trusted brand of espresso grinder shnozzola
http://www.flickr.com/photos/andy_s/sets/
Andy Schecter
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 4:59 pm
Location: NY

Postby nick on Sun Oct 08, 2006 4:14 pm

Fluke is set right... reads our Synesso just fine. I'll check the PXR3 tomorrow. Could be that, but I dunno.
Nick Cho
nick
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 8:15 pm
Location: San Francisco, Coffeefornia
full name: Nicholas Cho
company: Wrecking Ball Coffee Roasters
: http://nickcho.com
: http://wreckingballcoffee.com/

Postby Andy Schecter on Sun Oct 08, 2006 6:27 pm

nick wrote:I'll check the PXR3 tomorrow.


There's gotta be some kind of instrumentation failure. Changing banjo tubes cannot possibly result in a 20F temp error.

Aside from checking the TC type, there's a parameter PUOF that adds an offset (a temperature difference) to the process value. You normally want it at zero.
-AndyS
Schectermatic(tm), the oldest, most trusted brand of espresso grinder shnozzola
http://www.flickr.com/photos/andy_s/sets/
Andy Schecter
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 4:59 pm
Location: NY

Postby paul_pratt on Sun Oct 08, 2006 9:50 pm

Nick I have a 3 group EE (bog standard banjo tubes) with me now and PID is set about 2.5 deg c above middle group temp. I agree with Mr. S about the banjo not being the culprit.

I had a wandering PID once and it was caused by the controller getting too hot.
paul_pratt
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 4:57 pm
Location: UK + HK
full name: Paul Pratt
company: Cafelat

Postby nick on Wed Oct 11, 2006 5:38 pm

Whoops.

I had it set to the wrong thermocouple type.

Carry on. :x
Nick Cho
nick
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 8:15 pm
Location: San Francisco, Coffeefornia
full name: Nicholas Cho
company: Wrecking Ball Coffee Roasters
: http://nickcho.com
: http://wreckingballcoffee.com/

Postby Jeff Givens on Wed Oct 11, 2006 7:26 pm

Image
Jeff Givens
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 9:20 pm
Location: Maryland
full name: Jeff Givens
company: Southern Skies Coffee Roasters


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest