La Marzocco "Hybrid Caps"

la marzocco, synesso, simonelli, cimbali etc

Postby xristrettox on Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:49 am

i'm runnin at 203.5 on the pid, and with the "super-secret mod", i get 200 over the middle group.
Last edited by xristrettox on Mon Oct 09, 2006 11:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
Billy Wilson
Portland, Oregon
xristrettox
 
Posts: 481
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: Portland, OR
full name: Billy Wilson
company: BARISTA

Postby geir oglend on Mon Oct 09, 2006 10:19 am

Billy, hybrid caps? are they like the FB/80? w/ the 3way valve on top??

geir, (not trying to high-jack)
geir oglend
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:03 pm
Location: cobble hill. bc. Canada
full name: geir oglend
company: drumroaster Coffee
: www.drumroaster.com

Postby xristrettox on Mon Oct 09, 2006 11:29 am

uhh... wait... hybrid caps? what caps?
Billy Wilson
Portland, Oregon
xristrettox
 
Posts: 481
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: Portland, OR
full name: Billy Wilson
company: BARISTA

Postby geir oglend on Mon Oct 09, 2006 11:45 am

Don't leave me hangin.. :?

geir
geir oglend
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:03 pm
Location: cobble hill. bc. Canada
full name: geir oglend
company: drumroaster Coffee
: www.drumroaster.com

Postby Robert Goble on Mon Oct 09, 2006 12:09 pm

Third wave is about sharing.... :) Share Billy!
Robert Goble
Elysian Coffee
Robert Goble
 
Posts: 551
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2004 11:13 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC
full name: Robert Goble
company: Elysian Coffee
: www.elysiancoffee.com

Postby Mike Gregory on Tue Oct 10, 2006 10:09 am

Along the line of what AndyS is saying, you are considering your Synesso's built-in temp offset, right?

PS come on Billy give us more info on your group cap!
Mike Gregory
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 9:28 pm
Location: Seattle
full name: Mike Gregory
company: Independent

Postby nick on Tue Oct 10, 2006 12:49 pm

Michael: The Synesso comes pre-"programmed" with the offset. It's about 10*F if I remember correctly, from the thermocouple that's at the top-of-the-group.

The group-cap thing isn't a secret anymore. It is, indeed, the three-way on the group-cap, eliminating the "brew water takes a little trip around the neck of the group and then has a little 3-way (nice! ;-)) and then around and back into the group" design element. The semi-automatic GB/5's and FB-80's come that way from the factory nowadays.
Nick Cho
nick
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 8:15 pm
Location: San Francisco, Coffeefornia
full name: Nicholas Cho
company: Wrecking Ball Coffee Roasters
: http://nickcho.com
: http://wreckingballcoffee.com/

Postby Alistair Durie on Tue Oct 10, 2006 3:47 pm

nick wrote:The group-cap thing isn't a secret anymore. It is, indeed, the three-way on the group-cap, eliminating the "brew water takes a little trip around the neck of the group and then has a little 3-way (nice! ;-)) and then around and back into the group" design element. The semi-automatic GB/5's and FB-80's come that way from the factory nowadays.


Certainly there would be a really good reason why it wasn't put there in the first place?
Alistair Durie
Elysian Coffee | photos | tweets
Alistair Durie
admin
 
Posts: 1002
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 1:59 am
Location: Vancouver Canada
full name: Alistair Durie
company: Elysian Coffee
: www.elysiancoffee.com
: www.coffeed.com

Postby paul_pratt on Tue Oct 10, 2006 4:29 pm

Alistair Durie wrote:
nick wrote:The group-cap thing isn't a secret anymore. It is, indeed, the three-way on the group-cap, eliminating the "brew water takes a little trip around the neck of the group and then has a little 3-way (nice! ;-)) and then around and back into the group" design element. The semi-automatic GB/5's and FB-80's come that way from the factory nowadays.


Certainly there would be a really good reason why it wasn't put there in the first place?


I would guess that at the time (mid late 80's) with auto-volume being more popular that this was the simplest solution and could be added without major group changes or expense. There was also a spring loaded chamber type pre-infusion group cap some time ago.
paul_pratt
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 4:57 pm
Location: UK + HK
full name: Paul Pratt
company: Cafelat

Postby geir oglend on Tue Oct 10, 2006 7:07 pm

Any pictures of this set-up? I saw the caps in action, I was a little concerned about the 3way valve and flowmeters proximity to the coffee action and getting plug-up easely, any thoughts??

geir.
geir oglend
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:03 pm
Location: cobble hill. bc. Canada
full name: geir oglend
company: drumroaster Coffee
: www.drumroaster.com

Postby Brian Ludviksen on Sun Dec 24, 2006 7:04 am

It's not the best picture, but here's the innards of a FB-80 with the "Pierro" caps. I was told they were named after their "inventor" Pierro Bambi. As Nick said, they basically eliminate the extra (banjo) tubing by having the coffee valves (and the flowmeters on AV models) on top of each group head.

Image
Brian Ludviksen
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 11:28 am
Location: Durham, NC

Postby luca on Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:11 am

Here's a photo of the "hybrid" or "pierro" group or whatever it's called at the moment. Ours is an EE, obviously. We've got an AV floating around somewhere and I had a peek inside; the flowmeter sits to the right of the solenoid, right on top of/in the group cap. Nice!

Image[/img]
Luca Costanzo
Melbourne, Australia
First Pour
http://www.pourquality.blogspot.com
luca
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 5:13 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
full name: Luca Costanzo
company: None - publish coffeereviewaustralia.com
: http://www.coffeereviewaustralia.com
: http://www.pourquality.blogspot.com

Postby Kevin Cash on Sun Jan 07, 2007 8:30 am

love the shoes. Are they Vans. My fav work shoes are some slip on Duffs. Nice machine too :)
Rock out with your cup out...
Kevin Cash
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 4:52 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio
full name: Kevin Cash
company: Cafe Brioso

Postby jepy on Sun Jan 07, 2007 9:28 am

jepy
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 9:59 am
Location: Bay area Ca

Postby nick on Sun Jan 07, 2007 11:19 am

Does anyone know (Billy, anyone?) what happens to the thermal limiter switch that sits on the left-most group on a "normal" Linea? It's that thing with the little red or black-and-white pop-up thing that's held down by a couple of small screws on the left group-cap.

We just got in the new caps (minus the tubes that connect the 3-way to the drain-box-rail :x), and having seen them and these photos on this thread (thanks Luca et al.), it looks like you somehow delete the "manual reset thermostat" (part L276).

Any thoughts? Do you just join the wires and cap them off?
Nick Cho
nick
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 8:15 pm
Location: San Francisco, Coffeefornia
full name: Nicholas Cho
company: Wrecking Ball Coffee Roasters
: http://nickcho.com
: http://wreckingballcoffee.com/

Postby xristrettox on Sun Jan 07, 2007 11:43 am

we just left ours floating :shock:
Billy Wilson
Portland, Oregon
xristrettox
 
Posts: 481
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: Portland, OR
full name: Billy Wilson
company: BARISTA

Postby xristrettox on Sun Jan 07, 2007 11:46 am

about those tubes. you can just go to the hardware store and buy some silicon tubing for a couple bucks, and use that. make sure it's silicon or some high temp tube... bad things happen if not.
Billy Wilson
Portland, Oregon
xristrettox
 
Posts: 481
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: Portland, OR
full name: Billy Wilson
company: BARISTA

Postby onocoffee on Sun Jan 07, 2007 4:11 pm

Nick-

Look closely at the yellow FB80 pic and you'll notice a newer style thermo limiter that combines the two that were in the Linea into one unit. Look for the four white wires that run to the left side of the brew tank - that's it.

I wouldn't join the wires. Just leave the thermo limiter connected and floating if you must. Heck, if you play with it, it might be brittle so you might as well replace it.

When I rebuilt and PID'd the 2AV I had to replace the thermal limiters because they were brittle. You can also source another one of those spring things that wrap around the boiler to locate the limiters.
Jay Caragay

Lono
new explorations in coffee + cuisine.
onocoffee
 
Posts: 1209
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 1:30 pm
Location: Towson, MD
full name: Jay Caragay
company: spiral jetty
: www.sprocoffee.com
: onocoffee.blogspot.com

Postby nick on Sun Jan 07, 2007 4:31 pm

xristrettox wrote:about those tubes. you can just go to the hardware store and buy some silicon tubing for a couple bucks, and use that. make sure it's silicon or some high temp tube... bad things happen if not.

Damn.

Image

Back to the hardware store for me. :x
Nick Cho
nick
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 8:15 pm
Location: San Francisco, Coffeefornia
full name: Nicholas Cho
company: Wrecking Ball Coffee Roasters
: http://nickcho.com
: http://wreckingballcoffee.com/

Postby fleck on Mon Jan 08, 2007 10:30 am

about those tubes. you can just go to the hardware store and buy some silicon tubing for a couple bucks, and use that. make sure it's silicon or some high temp tube... bad things happen if not.

billy, be careful with silicon tubing. another stumpy account has had to replace theirs a number of times because it gums up and clogs (i saw the remnants and they were GNARLY). plus, this was the silicon tubing the machine came with. i think that lm is getting away from the silicon tubing on the drain line mod for this reason. we have also found that the problem may very well be cleaning product specific. we are still testing.
Michael: The Synesso comes pre-"programmed" with the offset. It's about 10*F if I remember correctly, from the thermocouple that's at the top-of-the-group.

actually, nick/michael, each group's offset is set individually during the bench testing of the machine. i spent three full days at the synesso factory a few weeks ago and got a better understanding of the machine and saw several built. i watched as caleb spent almost an entire day calibrating each group seperately on several machines to dial in the offset correlating the actual brew temp with the readout display.

--stephen
stephen e. vick
chicago, illinois
svick[at]intelligentsiacoffee[dot]com
fleck
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 11:43 am
Location: chicago, illinois
full name: stephen vick
company: intelligentsia coffee
: http://www.intelligentsiacoffee.com

Postby Ryan Willbur on Mon Jan 08, 2007 11:25 am

Stephen~ I am still curious as to whether or not they have been setting the offset like that from the beginning... It's always great to hear about all the things they are doing now... But since we own an older machine, I always question whether our maching has those features or not... I believe our 2 group is somewhere around #100...
Ryan Willbur
http://www.rwillbur.com
@RWillbur
Ryan Willbur
 
Posts: 355
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 12:05 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
full name: Ryan Willbur
company: La Marzocco USA

Postby xristrettox on Mon Jan 08, 2007 1:43 pm

nick wrote:
xristrettox wrote:about those tubes. you can just go to the hardware store and buy some silicon tubing for a couple bucks, and use that. make sure it's silicon or some high temp tube... bad things happen if not.

Damn.

Image

Back to the hardware store for me. :x


uhh... sorry nick, I'm a little slow on the up-take there. spaghetti? hmm... damn italians?
Billy Wilson
Portland, Oregon
xristrettox
 
Posts: 481
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: Portland, OR
full name: Billy Wilson
company: BARISTA

Postby nick on Mon Jan 08, 2007 4:32 pm

(bucatini is hollow. it was a dumb joke... sorry... I've been super-snarky over the past week)
Nick Cho
nick
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 8:15 pm
Location: San Francisco, Coffeefornia
full name: Nicholas Cho
company: Wrecking Ball Coffee Roasters
: http://nickcho.com
: http://wreckingballcoffee.com/

Postby Brian Ludviksen on Tue Jan 16, 2007 11:34 am

Hey Nick,

On the FB-80 here at CCC, they moved the thermal limit that was on the left group head to the coffee boiler.
Image


Image
Brian Ludviksen
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 11:28 am
Location: Durham, NC

Postby luca on Thu Jan 18, 2007 1:46 am

ove the shoes. Are they Vans.


Correct! The box described the colour as "espresso," so I thought that I'd better buy them because that's the colour my last Vans ended up ;P

On the FB-80 here at CCC, they moved the thermal limit that was on the left group head to the coffee boiler.


Hmm ... will have to poke around and look for ours next time I'm in there. Anyone know what temp these things are set to go off at?

Stephen~ I am still curious as to whether or not they have been setting the offset like that from the beginning... It's always great to hear about all the things they are doing now... But since we own an older machine, I always question whether our maching has those features or not... I believe our 2 group is somewhere around #100...


The Synesso at my other workplace arrived around the beginning of 2006 and we have the offsets individually programmed. You might want to check your manual - ours had the offsets handwritten into typed fields on one of the first few pages, so it looks like they've got it down to a system now! If you check the manual, it should also tell you how to change the offsets, if you so desire. Or maybe that was the supplementary troubleshooting manual thingy that was emailed out last year.

Cheers,

Luca
Luca Costanzo
Melbourne, Australia
First Pour
http://www.pourquality.blogspot.com
luca
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 5:13 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
full name: Luca Costanzo
company: None - publish coffeereviewaustralia.com
: http://www.coffeereviewaustralia.com
: http://www.pourquality.blogspot.com

Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest