Pressure profiling update number 2

elusive espresso... theorize, philosophize!

Pressure profiling update number 2

Postby gscace on Mon Mar 12, 2007 6:19 am

Howdee:

Well I feel quite intimidated to post my paltry attempts at learning about pressure profiling. First off,it's pretty much in my face that I'm a rank amateur at a lot of this, and I'm posting to a pro-oriented site. Second, Ken Fox and Jim Schulman published a very nice piece of work on the reduction of coffee staling by freezing. The competence of their work is something else. If you're interested, check it out on home-barista.com. It really is well done. Anyway, here goes.

I had time this weekend to devote to coffee since Casey and Anneke are off visiting relatives. So two group of people came out to play with pressure profiling. On Saturday, Alan Munter, Sarah Munter, and Nicholas Cho showed up for a lunch of smoked salmon and asparagus, with coffee for dessert. Also at the house was my friend Dave Arnoff, who had just received a Brewtus as a gift, and was diving into espresso " once we fixed his machine. That's another story.